Common [FMF]

Today I’m linking up with Kate Motaung for Five Minute Friday, where I will write for five minutes on one word. Today that word is “Common.”

GO

There are so many things the word common can mean, but today I’m drawn to the common things in my life, the habits and small moments and chores: researching a sermon, reading my Bible, gathering my recycling, putting everything away before I go to bed, washing the dishes, journaling every night. Those ‘common’ moments are the ones where I find beauty. They’re the ones where I find peace, the ones where I find joy. And they’re the ones where I find frustration, and sadness, and all the emotions I’ve been ignoring. They’re the ones where I find so much of the good in my life, and so often remember the bad, see all of the ways that I still need to work on myself and improve. It’s the common, normal moments that make up my life, that decide so much. Am I going to take the effort of reading my Bible this morning?  It might feel boring and pointless, it might feel everyday, but in doing that every day I’m making a space for God to come and meet me. (Not that God needs spaces–but I think I need spaces where I make space for God, if only as a reminder to myself to keep looking, keep noticing, keep praying and living well and doing as much good as I can).


STOP

Thanks for reading along! What small, common things are you seeing today?

3 thoughts on “Common [FMF]”

  1. I liked your reflections here. I agree, the common everyday things can seem mundane but they are important, and making space to focus on God should definitely be a common occurrence in our lives.

    Like

Leave a Reply

