Writing Challenge, Week 1

Week one of my writing challenge, done. Here’s what I did:

Tuesday: 40 minutes

Wednesday: 30 minutes

Thursday: 30 minutes

Friday: 0 minutes

Saturday: 0 minutes

Sunday: 0 minutes

Monday: 30 minutes

As you can see, I didn’t fulfill my goal of writing an hour a day even one day this week–no ice cream for me. 😦 And I’m disappointed. I let myself get discouraged after Tuesday, when various important things came up and I tried to write an hour and just couldn’t do it. I let myself get discouraged after Friday, when for no good reason I didn’t write at all. I’m disappointed that I let other things get in the way of writing, from important things like meetings and bodily needs to empty things like Netflix and games on my phone. 

But it’s also been really great. I’ve finished more writing projects doing this challenge than I have in the past two months. I’ve loved the feeling of sitting down and having a goal to work towards, and having that motivate me to keep writing and keep writing. I’ve loved the feeling of having a completed article in front of me, especially one that was challenging to write. I’ve had something to work towards, and I’ve been working towards it as well as working towards redeveloping better work habits. I’ve been focusing more, and even though this wasn’t nearly the amount of writing that I wanted to accomplish, it’s more than I have been getting done. It’s definitely helped.

Here’s to another week of writing! I hope to reach my goal this week!!

How about you? How’s your writing going this month?

1 thought on “Writing Challenge, Week 1”

Leave a Reply

