November Challenge

No, not NaNo. I’ll admit I’ve never done it, but this doesn’t feel like the year. I don’t have any stories that I’m feeling passionate enough about to write about for 50,000 words or a month (or, frankly, an hour). Lately, though, I’ve been loving how some bloggers chronicle their personal goals. I love following along, and it’s been inspiring me to get out of my box and challenge myself more. [shout out especially to Beth at The Quiet People and Brittany at Where My Soul Belongs]

So I’m starting a personal challenge. I’d like to write at least one hour every day in November. Because I’ve been having a lot of trouble writing, a lot of trouble finding times where writing feels “right,” I need a way to hold myself accountable. I need a way to encourage myself to write, even if that mostly involves going tentatively and slowly at first, because this won’t feel better if I don’t start and try and stumble through it.

And, if I succeed, I will buy myself a pint of Ben & Jerry’s ice cream and a new book. (Sweet! I am excited about this already)

So, here we go. I hope you’ll join me and follow along on this journey.

What about you? Are you doing NaNo? Something else?

4 thoughts on “November Challenge”

Leave a Reply

