Table (Five Minute Friday)

Table.

Hm.

I’m not sure what to write. I have lots of thoughts about Thanksgiving, but they’re all too personal and too wrapped up in others’ stories to share here. So, instead of thinking of the table as a place to eat, and eat with others, I’ll write instead about the table as a place to work.

Working is something I really struggle with. Well, it’s probably more honest to say that I struggle with this idea that I’ve had since I was tiny, that once you’re an adult you just always want to work and are super responsible and all that. (I know. HA!) But even though, I, as an actual adult, have realized that of course that isn’t true, I also still expect that of myself. I’m easily frustrated by myself and how much I’m not getting done, even while I’m also very willing to take breaks every two minutes to check emails and social media and all that nonsense. I want to use my life well, and screen time for screen time’s sake isn’t that. I want to do good and pure things, things that reflect well of God, and becoming an Internet zombie is not that.

So this post is really about what I’ve realized, coming away from the table, being inspired by all the people sitting around the table and seeing my own lacks. In the best of ways!

The table was a good place to be, and will be in the future. It’s a good place to be now, too.


 

This was written as part of Five Minute Friday, which is a wonderful coming together of lots of beautiful people writing about one word every Friday. I’ve really enjoyed being a part of that table, and can’t wait to keep doing so!

7 thoughts on “Table (Five Minute Friday)”

  1. Great ieas. Just limit you social media time and you will find the time to write. I save my social media time for breaks between the writing…sort of a reward. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  2. Your post provided a helpful reminder that the “tables” of our lives always involve other people, whether or not they are physically present in a given moment. Also, I appreciate your honest sharing about engaging in “screen time for screen time’s sake;” speaking from personal experience, I know it is easy to develop the habit. Grace to you as you seek to be a better steward of your time. Blessings. Visiting from FMF.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

